About Bailey

Status: Available for Adoption
Adoption Fee: $321.83 (including MN state taxes)
Species: Dog
Breed: Shih Tzu
General Color: White with tan, yellow or fawn
Eye Color: Brown
Ear Type: Droopy
Current Size: 15 Pounds
Current Age: 6 Years 1 Month (best estimate)

Housetrained: Yes
Obedience Training Needed: Has Basic Training
Exercise Needs: Moderate
Grooming Needs: High
Shedding Amount: None
Owner Experience Needed: Species
Reaction to New People: Friendly

“Hi, I’m Bailey!”

I am 6 years old. Last fall, my human had to go to a nursing home and I couldn’t go with her. I am still trying to understand why the person I have loved since I was a puppy is not around anymore and Sometimes I get a bit overwhelmed and upset. My foster family is helping me learn to relax and trust again and I also have medicine to help me. I’m doing really well! My foster family has lots of other dogs and I am getting used to sharing attention. They can be a bit too much for me though- I mean, going from top dog to one of 5 is hard! My foster mommy says I am a good boy! She says I walk like a champ, am perfectly house trained and I give her the best kisses. I like to play with squeaky toys and go for walks. I also love to just sit outside and watch the world go by. At night, I like to sleep with my foster mom because she rubs my tummy and scratches my ears till I fall asleep. I love to talk to people, but sometimes I talk with my outside voice, so I am working on using my inside voice more. My foster mom helps me remember and I get lots of treats when I do! As much as I love my foster family (and they love me), I really want to find a forever family of my very own. My new family needs to be patient with me and help me be the best me! I need lots of attention and exercise to help with my anxiety. While I like other dogs I meet, I would do best if it was just me or just me and a playmate – no kitties though! I like the little girls that live by my foster family, but I don’t know how I would do if they lived with me. They wear me out! I can’t wait to meet you and give you lots of kisses!

My adoption fee, including MN state taxes, is $321.83. I’m available to adopt within a 50 mile radius of the Twin Cities of Minneapolis/Saint Paul.

More about Me:
Good with Dogs, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Good with Adults, Very vocal, Does Good in the Car, Hypoallergenic, Leashtrained, Likes to play with toys, Playful, Intelligent, Goofy, Needs Rules

If you’d like to meet me, please attend NorthStar’s Nice To Meet Tzu adoption events, watch our Facebook page for locations & times. (I’m sorry, I’m not available for private meet and greets, please check the Events calendar the day before to see if I’m attending.)

To submit an adoption application, please click here to complete an online application.